The 2021 NFL MVP will be announced on Saturday, Feb. 12, one day before Super Bowl 56.

Since 1957, the MVP award has been handed out to the player who performed well during the regular season. The NFL MVP is different than the Super Bowl MVP, since the NFL award is given out based solely on the player’s regular season performance. 49 different players have won the award.

More often than not, a quarterback takes home the MVP title. And, in 2021, it looks like that will probably be the case again as Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers and Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady lead the odds. Both players have won MVP before. Out of the 65 winners in history, 44 have been quarterbacks. A non-quarterback hasn’t won the title since 2012 when running back Adrian Peterson won.

MORE: NFL MVP odds 2021

Here’s where the active players rank in terms of how many MVP titles they’ve won, along with which players have won back-to-back MVP titles.

Who has won the most NFL MVPs in history?

Former Colts and Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has won the most NFL MVPs in history with five wins. Those wins came in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2013. 

Following Manning, there are five players who are tied for second with three wins each. The two active players who are tied for second are Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady. Both of these quarterbacks have high chances of winning the 2021 NFL MVP as well, which would put them solely in second place.

Here’s a list of the most NFL MVPs, including all the players who have won more than one MVP title.

Peyton Manning52003, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2013
Aaron Rodgers32011, 2014, 2020
Tom Brady32007, 2010, 2017
Brett Favre31995, 1996, 1997
Jim Brown31957, 1958, 1965
Johnny Unitas31959, 1964, 1967
Kurt Warner21999, 2001
Steve Young21992, 1994
Joe Montana21989, 1990

MORE: History of RBs to win NFL MVP

Which NFL players have won back-to-back MVPs?

In NFL history, there has only been five back-to-back winners for the NFL MVP title. Former Packers quarterback Brett Favre is the only player to win the MVP title three times in a row.

Here’s which players have won the title in back-to-back years.

Jim Brown1957, 1958
Joe Montana1989, 1990
Brett Favre1995, 1996, 1997
Peyton Manning2003, 2004 & 2008, 2009

Who votes for the NFL MVP?

Each year, the Associated Press chooses 50 voters. Typically, these voters work in NFL media or pay close attention to football.

The chosen 50 people cast their votes following Week 18 in mid-January. They rank the players in a point system, and whichever player earns the most points wins the NFL MVP that year.

Only two players in history have ever won unanimously: Tom Brady in 2010 and Lamar Jackson in 2019.

Who won NFL MVP in 2020?

Aaron Rodgers took home the 2020 NFL MVP title for the third time in his career. He won in 2011 and 2014 previously. 

Rodgers leads the 2021 NFL MVP odds at +150, and if he wins the title for the second year in a row, he would be the fifth player in history to do this. It would also be the sixth time that a back-to-back win has taken place.

NFL Honors 2021: Full list of every award winner as Aaron Rodgers earns third MVP

Who has won NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP in the same year?

The regular season NFL MVP has not won a Super Bowl title since 1999 when Kurt Warner did both. Nine players in history have won the regular season MVP andn then won the Super Bowl title, while 10 times the NFL MVP has lost in the Super Bowl. 

Only six players have won the NFL MVP and the Super Bowl MVP in the same season, the last time being Kurt Warner in 1999 as well.

Here’s a round-up of which players who won the NFL MVP have appeared in the Super Bowl the same season.

PlayerYear (Regular Season)Super Bowl ResultSuper Bowl MVP?
Bart Starr1966WinYes
Terry Bradshaw1978WinYes
Mark Moseley1982WinNo
Lawrence Taylor1986WinNo
Joe Montana1989WinYes
Emmitt Smith1993WinYes
Steve Young1994WinYes
Brett Favre1996WinNo
Brett Favre1997LossNo
Kurt Warner1999WinYes
Kurt Warner2001LossNo
Rich Gannon2002LossNo
Shaun Alexander2005LossNo
Tom Brady2007LossNo
Peyton Manning2009LossNo
Peyton Manning2013LossNo
Cam Newton2015LossNo
Matt Ryan2016LossNo
Tom Brady2017LossNo